2011-2012 Meeting Schedule

Monday, October 17, 2011

Monday, November 21, 2011

Monday, December 19, 2011

Monday, January 16, 2012

Monday, February 20, 2012

Monday, March 19, 2012

Monday, April 16, 2012

Monday, May 21, 2012

no meetings in June, July, August, September

Monday, October 15, 2012

Monday, November 19, 2012

Monday, December 17, 2012

Meetings are held at
the Foxfire Clubhouse
1030 Kings Way,  Naples FL 34104
at 11:45 AM.
This entry was posted in Club News, Purple Martin Sightings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011-2012 Meeting Schedule

  1. News Editor says:

    Don’t give up yet. You still have time to attract purple martins to your site assuming you have appropriate housing that is located at least 30′ from the nearest tree that is taller than your martin housing.

    Adult martins have already arrived in your area and started nesting. However, the Second-Year birds (those that hatched last year) are just now arriving in the area and will be looking for nesting opportunities. As a landlord who has not had martins in the past, it would not be unusual for you to fail to attract the earliest arriving adult martins since they usually seek older, established colonies.

    Most new landlords start their colony with the young birds that arrive later. It may be helpful to place a small amount of nesting material, such as pine needles or small pieces of dried palm fronds in each compartment. Just enough to cover the floor area may be a great help. Good luck!

  2. Andrew Richards says:

    Im in Orlando. I never had Martins before. Do you believe it is too late to get any p.martins. Ive been playing the dawn song and I still have no one dedicated to my site as yet.

    This is the south. So we are the first to get martins. If I have no martins by now what chances are left. That is why I asked.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>